Week 6 Notes 

· Free Kick Mechanics: A lot of wing officials are setting up at the 15 or 20 yard line on free kicks. I understand why given that many kickers don’t have strong legs. However, there have been a number of games when kicks are driven between the 20 and the goal line; our wing officials are looking back toward the goal line or laterally at the ball, and we are losing focus on the players coming down the field. It is suggested that all short wings start at the goal line for the first kick by both teams to judge the depth of the kick. The ideal position for coverage is to be able to see both the ball and the players coming down the field. We don’t want to miss blocks in the backs, holding, or other potential fouls. It is better to come up from a trail position to mark the end of the run than to move even with the ball carrier.  Once a pattern is established for the length of kicks by a team, short wings can adjust, but only to the point where both ball and oncoming players are in their field of vision.
·  More on Free Kicks: Just a reminder that a free kick out of bounds has basically 3 options (assume the kick is from the K40): 5 yards from the previous spot and rekick, 5 yards added to the out of bounds spot, or the receiving team can accept a penalty 25 yards from the previous spot. If the out of bounds spot is at the 31 yard line or closer to the previous spot, the flag should be accurately placed at the out of bounds spot. Often times, the 5 yard penalty added to this spot is the best option for the receiving team. If the kick goes out of bounds from the 30 yard line to the goal line, it doesn’t matter where the flag lands. If K first touches the kick before it goes 10 yards, a bean bag for first touching is needed. If a kick fails to go 10 yards and comes to rest, then R gets the ball 1st and 10 from that spot. You can also revisit the presentation on free kicks on the web site under Interpreter for more information.
· Overtime: Referees – please make sure to review the MIAA rules for overtime.
The video link is attached as a refresher, and it is a good idea for all to review. 3.6 - Overtime - Updated 9/3/24 (loom.com) 
· Use of Preliminary Signals: For fouls like false start, offsides, pass interference, delay of game, etc. it is good for officials to provide the referee with a preliminary signal to help move the game along more efficiently. Just remember, when there are multiple flags, even when it is apparent that all officials may have the same call, there should be a discussion/confirmation of the foul before a preliminary signal is given. We want to minimize any complaints from coaches when one official signals false start while another signals offside.
· Personal Fouls on Defenseless Players: We have seen a number of hits on defenseless players during the past few weeks. Most are being properly called, but just a reminder that Rule 2-32-16 defines who is a defenseless player. These include:
a) A passer
b) A receiver attempting to catch a pass
c) The receiver of a pass in the action during and immediately following an interception or potential interception
d) A receiver in (b) and (c), including the person intercepting the pass, who is forcefully contacted by an opponent and the contact is not
· Incidental contact as a result of making a play on the ball
· Initiated with open hands
· An attempt to tackle by wrapping arm(s) around the receiver
e) A runner already in the grasp of a tackle and whose forward progress has been stopped
f) A kick-off or punt returner attempting to catch/recover a kick or who has completed a fair catch or recovery and has not had time to protect himself
g) A player on the ground including a runner who has obviously given himself up and is sliding feet first
h) A player obviously out of the play and not in the immediate vicinity of the runner
i) A player who receives a blind side block
· Penalty enforcement: During a touchdown play, Team B roughs the passer and then commits either a live ball or dead ball Unsportsmanlike Conduct foul. Can Team A choose to enforce one penalty on the try and the other on the succeeding kickoff? Ruling: Yes; Team A can choose to enforce both penalties on the try or succeeding kickoff, or split the enforcement to have one penalty enforced on each down.
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